General

MILL COTTAGE

Built in 1866 for Joseph Bishop, son of one the district’s first settlement families. Mill Cottage is one of Port Lincoln’s earliest remaining buildings and celebrating its 150th Birthdat in 2015.

The Cottage became a Museum following the death of Amy Bishop, daughter of Joseph in 1963. Miss Bishop was a noted water colour artist, and the museum features a number of her paintings of the Lower Eyre Peninsula.

Mill Cottage is a snapshot of early life in Port Lincoln with Victorian and Edwardian artefacts ranging from clothing, toys and items of domestic life. Many of the belongings were from the Bishop family, which are sure to delight adults and children alike.

The Museum has indoor and outdoor displays including the original kitchen, rain water tank and well. Special chasing exhibitions are held in Amy’s Studio.

Staffed by a group of knowledgeable volunteer guides, your experience is guaranteed to be interesting and informative. Do not miss out of this family museum experience!

OPENING HOURS

Wednesday 10am to 2pm
Sunday 2pm to 4pm
Closed June / July / August

Bus tours by arrangement

PRICES

Adult $5.00
Concession $4.00
Studen (under 16yrs) $0.50

CONTACT & LOCATION

CONTACT DETAILS
icon-address

Flinders Park, 20 Flinders Highway, Port Lincoln, SA 5606

 

icon-phone Secretary- 0429 676 661
icon-web Check out our online brochure
icon-facbook like us on Facebook!

 

Available departures

Please contact the Port Lincoln Visitor Centre for availability of this tour, call 1300 788 378

Port Lincoln

Port LincolnPort Lincoln is the seafood and aquaculture capital of Australia, home to the country’s largest commercial fishing fleet and renowned for its southern bluefin tuna, King George whiting, Western King prawns and Southern Rock lobster. Situated on Boston Bay – one of the largest protected natural harbours in the world and three times the size Read more

We are sorry, there are no reviews yet for this tour.